First Grief, Then Joy

“I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.”
John 16:33 NIV

Jesus reminds us why He came. He came to be the light that overcomes the dark. He came to remove sin as a stumbling block.

He didn’t come to trap us or humiliate us. He brings peace. He encourages.

Jesus went on to say, “In a little while you will see me no more, and then after a little while you will see me.” At this, some of his disciples said to one another, “What does he mean by saying, ‘In a little while you will see me no more, and then after a little while you will see me,’ and ‘Because I am going to the Father’?” They kept asking, “What does he mean by ‘a little while’? We don’t understand what he is saying.”
John 16:16‭-‬18 NIV

Jesus spoke to the disciples to teach them. At times through stories, but here he was unclear. Here, the disciples were confused. They did not want to walk alone without their Savior.

They experienced Jesus at each turn. Now he’s telling them they will be without him. In a little while? When, the disciples are asking? Why? What? They want to know. But then, they don’t want to be without him.

We shouldn’t want to be without Him either. In a little while…We could be with our Father in heaven with Jesus beside us. In a little while, we could reach out to touch Jesus. In a little while, we could be always beside him. In a little while, we would not have to wonder we would know exactly what Jesus meant.

But first, faith. Jesus asks the disciples to be patient. Jesus wants them to know Him better.

Very truly I tell you, you will weep and mourn while the world rejoices. You will grieve, but your grief will turn to joy.
John 16:20 NIV

Jesus wants them to see the joy that they will experience will occur soon. Jesus wants them to feel the grief that his passing will bring but know joy follows.

In that day you will no longer ask me anything. Very truly I tell you, my Father will give you whatever you ask in my name. Until now you have not asked for anything in my name. Ask and you will receive, and your joy will be complete.
John 16:23‭-‬24 NIV

When the day comes for this newfound joy, you will have no questions left. My Father will give what you want. You need only ask in His name. In fact, that asking will mean everything to our Father who sees and rewards your faith.

No, the Father himself loves you because you have loved me and have believed that I came from God.
John 16:27 NIV

Your belief is what our Father wants. God sees “your faith in me.” He is pleased. He sees that you believe that I’m from God.

He loves you.

Leave a comment